https://ph.trip.com/moments/poi-mingyue-temple-10520157

[2025 Suzhou Attraction] Travel Guide for Mingyue Temple (Updated Apr)

3.5
4.4/5
17 reviews
Historic buildings
Mingyue Temple was built in the second year of Qingtai in the later Tang Dynasty (AD 935), created by Seng Mingzhi, and merged into Puxian Temple at the beginning of Ming Hongwu. In the 16th year of Guangxu in the Qing Dynasty (1890 AD), the roots of the monk Dao were rebuilt. There is a large pear grove near Mingyue Temple. Every early spring, "thousands of trees and pears bloom", which becomes a scene of the ancient town. Li Guo in the Qing Dynasty had the phrase "Pear Flower Mingyue Temple, Fangcao Niu Nunnery", which was passed down for a while. The architecture of Mingyue Temple is quite distinctive. The layout and structure of Tianwang Hall, Daxiong Hall and Tibetan Scripture Building are similar to those of Lingyanshan Temple, which is close by. Entering the mountain gate and the Hall of Heavenly Kings, Maitreya with a big belly sat in the middle with a peaceful atmosphere. The four heavenly kings are lined up on both sides, each with a raised eyebrow and a fierce look. The Daxiong Hall is the center of the Mingyue Temple complex, with five main halls and cornices on the second floor, solemn and magnificent. The center of the hall is dedicated to the Buddha, and the two sides are Amitabha Buddha and Medicine Buddha, collectively known as the "Three Buddhas". The back of the Buddha is dedicated to Guanyin Bodhisattva, with lotus feet and willow branches in hand, with a reserved and demure demeanor. On both sides of the hall are eighteen arhats, with different expressions and lifelike expressions.

Mingyue Temple Address:

Mudu Shantang Street, Mudu Ancient Town, Wuzhong District, Suzhou City

Mingyue Temple Recommended sightseeing time:

1 hour

Mingyue Temple Phone:

13961545679
Post